November 12, 2007

College Football, The SEC. 2006 Attendance Map.

Filed under: NCAA Gridiron Football,NCAA/fb-SEC — admin @ 5:25 pm


The Southeastern Conference (or SEC) was formed in December 1932, and began play in 1933.  It was formed when 13 schools from the Southern Conferencece left to form their own conference.  10 of these schools still play in the SEC.  At the end of 1991, the SEC expanded to 12 schools, with the addition of Arkansas (from the disbanded Southwest Conference), and South Carolina (who had been independent).  Since 1992, the SEC has been split into 2 divisions.  The Eastern Division is made up of Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, South Carolina, Tennessee, and Vanderbilt.  The Western Division comprises Alabama, Arkansas, Auburn, LSU, Mississippi (usually referred to as “Ole Miss”), and Mississippi State.  The winner of each division plays in the SEC Championship Game, held each December at the Georgia Dome, in Atlanta.  Here are the biggest rivalries in the SEC.  Alabama vs. Auburn (“The Iron Bowl”).  Florida vs. Georgia (“The World’s Largest Outdoor Cocktail Party”).  LSU vs. Arkansas (“The Battle for the Golden Boot”).  Alabama vs. Tennessee (“The Third Saturday in October”).  Florida vs. Tennessee (“The Third Saturday in September”).  Auburn vs. Georgia (“The Deep South’s Oldest Rivalry”).  Thanks to the NFL Helmet Store, Midwest Collectibles, Elite Deals, CBS Sports Store, and Sports Unlimited Inc. websites.

WordPress database error: [Table 'bil072291136157.wp_comments' doesn't exist]
SELECT * FROM wp_comments WHERE comment_approved = '1' AND comment_post_ID = 419 ORDER BY comment_date_gmt ASC

No Comments »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URL

Leave a comment

Powered by WordPress