November 23, 2007

College Football, Mountain West Conference. 2006 Attendance Map.

Filed under: NCAA Gridiron Football,NCAA/fb-Mountain West — admin @ 7:41 am


The Mountain West Conference (MWC)  was formed in 1999, when several members of the recently expanded Western Athletic Conference decided that the conference was too big.  8 schools left , depriving the WAC of much of it’s competitive strength and history.  TCU followed 4 years later.  Founding members of the WAC (which was formed in 1962) that eventually became part of the Mountain West Conference were Brigham Young University, New Mexico, Utah, and Wyoming.  Schools that later joined the WAC, and also moved on to the Mountain West were Colorado State (joined WAC in 1967),  San Diego State (joined WAC in 1978), Air Force (joined WAC in 1980), UNLV (joined WAC in 1996), and TCU (joined WAC in 1996).   So the MWC is basically the old-time WAC, plus TCU and UNLV.  Only Hawaii remains in the WAC, from the earlier days of that conference.  The Mountain West has it’s own TV broadcast network, the “mtn.” (the mountain).  They ceased their affiliation with ESPN after that network insisted the MWC play games on Tuesday and Wednesday nights.  But there have been problems.  The network is unavailable on satellite TV, and totally unavailable in Dallas/Ft. Worth, the home of TCU.  Both Utah schools are dissatisfied to the point of bringing in their lawyers.  

Powered by WordPress