March 15, 2010

2010 NCAA Division I Basketball Tournament (aka March Madness), the 65 teams.

Filed under: NCAA Men's Basketball — admin @ 7:25 am


Defending champions North Carolina topped the sizable list of traditional powers that didn’t receive spots in this year’s tournament. That list also includes Arizona, Connecticut, Indiana, and all-time titles leader UCLA (11 titles, last in 1995). Arizona’s streak of 25 consecutive appearances was broken (although the NCAA had retroactively vacated their 1996 bid because of recruiting violations, so technically that streak was over a long time ago). The current longest-consecutive-appearances streak is now the 21 straight made by the Kansas Jayhawks.
Kansas goes into this tournament as the top #1 seed. The other three #1 seeds are Duke, Kentucky, and Syracuse.

Play-in game Tuesday night is Winthrop versus Arkansas Pine-Bluff.

Brackets, NCAA College Basketball Brackets, at CBS

Thanks to the contributors to the pages at, 2010 NCAA Men’s Basketball Tournament.
Thanks to the Bracket-ville site, for a head-start on possible entrants (before the selection), BRACKETville.
Thanks to CBS Sports, CBS Sports College Basketball.

WordPress database error: [Table 'bil072291136157.wp_comments' doesn't exist]
SELECT * FROM wp_comments WHERE comment_approved = '1' AND comment_post_ID = 3893 ORDER BY comment_date_gmt ASC


No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URL

Leave a comment

Powered by WordPress