November 9, 2007

College Football, The Big 12. 2006 Attendance Map.

Filed under: NCAA Gridiron Football,NCAA/fb-Big 12 — admin @ 9:32 pm


The Big 12 was formed in 1994, and began play in 1996.  The schools of the Big 8 joined with four Texas-based schools from the disbanded Southwest Conference.  Although the Big 12 does not officially claim the history of the Big 8 as it’s own, most fans see the Big 12 as an enlarged version of the old Big 8.  [The chart on this map lists total conference championships as the sum of Big 8+Big 12 Titles; and the sum of Southwest Conference+Big 12 Titles.] 

Keeping with the rivalries theme of my last NCAA football map, here are the main rivalries in the Big 12.  Oklahoma vs. Texas: “the Red River Shootout” (politically correct name is ”Red River Rivalry”).  Oklahoma vs. Oklahoma State: “the Bedlam Series.”  Texas vs. Texas A&M: “the Lone Star Showdown.”  Texas A&M vs. Baylor: “the Battle of the Brazos.”  Kansas vs. Missouri: “the Border War” (p.c. version: “Border Showdown”).  Kansas vs. Kansas State: “the Sunflower Showdown.”  Five of these annual match-ups have trophies for the winner (the A&M-Baylor game doesn’t).  Three more rivalries also have trophies, but aren’t big enough (I guess) to have an actual name.  Thanks to the NFL Helmet Store, Elite Deals, Joes Sports, and Midwest Collectibles webites.  Also thanks to All-Time Database (  I will do the Southeastern Conference next.

WordPress database error: [Table 'bil072291136157.wp_comments' doesn't exist]
SELECT * FROM wp_comments WHERE comment_approved = '1' AND comment_post_ID = 409 ORDER BY comment_date_gmt ASC

No Comments »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URL

Leave a comment

Powered by WordPress