March 15, 2015

2015 NCAA Men’s Division I Basketball Tournament – the 68 teams – map, with team locations / Plus 2014 average attendances listed.

Filed under: NCAA Men's Basketball — admin @ 11:04 pm

2015 NCAA Men’s Division I Basketball Tournament – the 68 teams – map, with team locations / Plus 2014 average attendances listed

#1 Seeds for the 2015 Tournament are: Kentucky Wildcats (#1 overall), Villanova Wildcats (#1/#2 overall), Duke Blue Devils (#1/#3 overall), Wisconsin Badgers (#1/#4 overall).

Teams making their tournament debuts: Buffalo Bulls, North Florida Ospreys, UC-Irvine Anteaters.

-Dabo Sweeney, who is paid over $3 million a year to coach student-athletes at Clemson, on why student-athletes should not be paid…”As far as paying players, professionalizing college athletics, that’s where you lose me. I’ll go do something else because there’s enough entitlement in this world as it is.”
-Less than 2 percent of student-athletes in college football and college basketball turn pro.
-The term “student-athlete” was created by the NCAA in the 1950s to avoid paying worker’s compensation for injured players.
From Gothamist, from 16 March 2015, posted by …Video: John Oliver Says NCAA Is Running “Sweatshop” For Not Paying Student Athletes (20:54 video from the March 15 2015 edition of Last Week Tonight, hosted by John Oliver, posted by Jen Chung at

Qualified teams (alphabetically) -
Listed below by: Name (Conference), Location [of basketball arena].
UAB [University of Alabama-Birmingham] Blazers (C-USA), Birmingham, AL.
Albany Great Danes (America East), Guilderland [Greater Albany], NY.
Arizona Wildcats (Pac-12), Tucson, AZ.
Arkansas Razorbacks (SEC), Fayetteville, AR.
Baylor Bears (Big 12), Waco, TX.
Belmont Bruins (Ohio V.), Nashville, TN.
Boise State Broncos (Mtn. W), Boise, ID.
Buffalo Bulls (MAC), Buffalo, NY.
Butler Bulldogs (Big East), Indianapolis, IN.
BYU [Brigham Young Univ.] (WCC), Provo, UT.
Cincinnati Bearcats (American C), Cincinnati, OH.
Coastal Carolina Chanticleers (Big South), Conway, SC.
Davidson Wildcats (Atl.-10), Davidson, NC.
Dayton Flyers (Atl.-10), Dayton, OH.
Duke Blue Devils (ACC), Durham, NC.
Eastern Washington Eagles (Big Sky), Cheney [Greater Spokane], WA.
Georgetown Hoyas (ACC), Washington, DC.
Georgia Bulldogs (SEC), Athens, GA.
Georgia State Panthers (Sun Belt), Atlanta, GA.
Gonzaga Bulldogs (WCC), Spokane, WA.
Hampton Pirates (MEAC), Hampton [Greater Norfolk], VA.
Harvard Crimson (Ivy League), Cambridge, MA [arena in Boston, MA].
Indiana Hoosiers (Big Ten), Bloomington, IN.
Iowa Hawkeyes (Big 12), Iowa City, IA.
Iowa State Cyclones (Big 12), Ames, IA.
Kansas Jayhawks (Big 12), Lawrence, KS.
Kentucky Wildcats (SEC), Lexington, KY.
Lafayette Leopards (Patriot), Easton, PA.
Louisville Cardinals (ACC), Louisville, KY.
LSU [Louisiana St. Univ.] Tigers(SEC), Baton Rouge, LA.
Manhattan Jaspers (MAAC), The Bronx, NYC, NY.
Maryland Terrapins (Big Ten), College Park, MD.
Michigan State Spartans (Big Ten), East Lansing, MI.
Mississippi [Ole Miss] Rebels (SEC), Oxford, MS.
New Mexico State Aggies (WAC), Las Cruces, NM.
North Carolina Tar Heels (ACC), Chapel Hill, NC.
North Carolina State Wolf Pack (ACC), Raleigh, NC
North Dakota State Bison (Summit), Fargo, ND.
North Florida Ospreys (Atl. Sun), Jacksonville, FL.
Northeastern Huskies (CAA), Boston, MA.
U. Northern Iowa [UNI] Panthers (Missouri Valley C), Cedar Falls, IA.
North Florida Ospreys (Atlantic Sun), Jacksonville, FL.
Notre Dame Fighting Irish (ACC), Notre Dame [Greater South Bend], IN.
Ohio State Buckeyes (Big Ten), Columbus, OH.
Oklahoma Sooners (Big 12), Norman, OK.
Oklahoma State Cowboys (Big 12), Stillwater, OK.
Oregon Ducks (Pac-12), Eugene, OR.
Providence Friars (Big East), Providence, RI.
Purdue Boilermakers (Big Ten), West Lafayette, IN.
Robert Morris Colonials (NEC), Moon Township [Greater Pittsburgh], PA.
San Diego Aztecs (Mtn. W), San Diego, CA.
St. John’s Red Storm (Big East), Queens, NYC, NY.
SMU [Southern Methodist Univ.] Mustangs (American C), Dallas, TX.
Stephen F. Austin Lumberjacks (Southland), Nacogdoches, TX.
Texas Longhorns (Big 12), Austin, TX.
Texas Southern Tigers (SWAC), Houston, TX.
UCLA [Univ. of California-Los Angeles] Bruins (Pac-10), Los Angeles, CA.
Utah Utes (Pac-12), Salt Lake City, UT.
Valparaiso Crusaders [aka 'Valpo'] (Horizon), Valparaiso, IN.
Villanova Wildcats (Big East), Villanova, PA.
Virgina Cavaliers (ACC), Charlottesville, VA.
Virginia Commonwealth U [VCU] Rams (Atl. 10), Richmond, VA.
West Virginia Mountaineers (Big 12), Morgantown, WV.
Wichita State Shockers (Missouri Valley C), Wichita, KS.
Wisconsin Badgers (Big Ten), Madison, WI.
Wofford Terriers (Southern), Spartanburg, SC.
Wyoming Cowboys (Mtn. W), Laramie, WY.
Xavier Musketeers (Big East), Cincinnati, OH.
Attendance figures from,

Thanks to Lokal_Profil for blank map, File:Blank USA, w territories.svg (
Thanks to the contributors to the pages at, ‘2015 NCAA Men’s Division I Basketball Tournament’.

WordPress database error: [Table 'bil072291136157.wp_comments' doesn't exist]
SELECT * FROM wp_comments WHERE comment_approved = '1' AND comment_post_ID = 30865 ORDER BY comment_date_gmt ASC

No Comments »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URL

Leave a comment

Powered by WordPress