July 9, 2021

2021 Copa Libertadores: map of Final Stages (16 teams)./+ All of the Round-of-16 stadiums, with club info.

Filed under: Copa Libertadores — admin @ 9:16 pm

2021 Copa Libertadores: map of Final Stages (16 teams)

By Bill Turianski on the 9th of July 2021;
-2021 Copa Libertadores/Final Stages (
-Summary – CONMEBOL Libertadores – Final Stages [2021] (

The Round of 16
The first legs of the 2021 Copa Libertadores Round of 16 will be played from 13 to 15 July {click on the links at the top of this post for the fixtures}.

The breakdown of qualified clubs-by-country…
•Brazil: 6 clubs (Atlético Mineiro, Palmeiras, Flamengo, Fluminense, Internacional, São Paulo). This includes reigning champions Palmeiras.
•Argentina: 6 clubs (Racing, Argentinos Juniors, Boca Juniors, Vélez Sarsfield, Defensa y Justicia, River Plate).
•Paraguay: 2 clubs (Cerro Porteño, Olimpia).
•Chile: 1 club (Universidad Católica).
•Ecuador: 1 club (SC Barcelona).

This is the most clubs – 12 clubs – that the Big 2 (Brazil & Argentina) have ever placed into the Round of 16. Last year, Brazil had 6 clubs in the Round of 16, while Argentina had ‘only’ 3 clubs. The previous most-ever-clubs placed by the Big 2 into the Round of 16 was in 2018, with 11 clubs (Brazil 5/Argentina 6).

Paraguay have 2 clubs in the Round of 16 this year: Cerro Porteño, and 3-time-Libertadores champions Club Olimpia.

Ecuador, coming off an impressive 3-clubs-in-the-Round-of-16 last year {2020}, have one club in this year, SC Barcelona of Guayaquil.

Chile have a club into the Round of 16 for the first time since 2018 (Universidad Católica).

For the third straight year, Colombia has underachieved and have placed zero clubs in the Round of 16. Also notable by their absence are any Uruguayan clubs.

There is one club making its Round of 16 debut – Defensa y Justicia, of Florencio Varela, a city of 79,000, located in the far southern suburbs of Greater Buenos Aires.

    Below: 2021 Libertadores Round of 16 venues – all 16 clubs’ stadiums…

#1 seed, Atlético Mineiro – Mineirão, in Belo Horizonte, Minas Gerais, Brazil.
Photo credit above – photo by Prefeitura de Belo Horizonte at

#2 seed, Palmeiras – Allianz Parque (aka Palestra Itália), in São Paulo, SP, Brazil.
Image credit above – screenshot from video uploaded by One Man Wolfpack at

#3 seed, Racing Club – Estadio Juan Domingo Perón (aka El Cilindro de Avellaneda), in Avellaneda, Greater Buenos Aires, Argentina.
Photo credit above –[@mdkro] via[@RacingManiacos].

#4 seed, Barcelona SC – Estadio Monumental Isidro Romero Carbo, in Guayaquil, Ecuador.
Image credit above – screenshot of video uploaded by Christian Merchán at

#5 seed, Flamengo – Maracanã (Estádio Jornalista Mário Filho), in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.
Photo credit above – Johnson Barros at

#6 seed, Argentinos Juniors – Estadio Diego Armando Maradona, in Villa General Mitre, Autonomous City of Buenos Aires, Argentina.
Image credit above – unattributed at

#7 seed, Fluminense – Maracanã (Estádio Jornalista Mário Filho), in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.
Photo credit above – Getty Images via

#8 seed, Internacional – Estádio Beira-Rio, in Porto Alegre, Rio Grande do Sul state, Brazil.
Photo credit above – unattributed at

#9 seed, São Paulo FC – Estádio do Morumbi (Estádio Cícero Pompeu de Toledo), in the Morumbi district of São Paulo, SP, Brazil.
Photo credit above – Morumbi Tour/ Divulgação via

#10 seed, Boca Juniors – La Bombonera (‘the Chocolate Box’), in La Boca district of the Autonomous City of Buenos Aires, Argentina.
Photo credit above – unattributed at[@ftblsm].

#11 seed, Vélez Sarsfield – Estadio José Amalfitani, in Liniers district of the Autonomous City of Buenos Aires, Argentina.
Photo credit above –


#12 seed, Cerro Porteño – Estadio General Pablo Rojas (aka La Nueva Olla), in Asunción, Paraguay.
Photo credit above – unattributed at[@sc_espn].

#13 seed, Defensa y Justicia – Estadio Norberto “Tito” Tomaghello, in Florencio Varela [in Greater Buenos Aires], Buenos Aires province, Argentina.
Image credit above – screenshot from video uploaded by Tirando DATA con Walter Queijeiro at

#14 seed, River Plate – El Monumental (Estadio Monumental Antonio Vespucio Liberti), in the Belgrano district of the Autonomous City of Buenos Aires, Argentina.
Photo credit above –

#15 seed, Universidad Católica – Estadio San Carlos de Apoquindo
Photo credit above – unattributed at

#16 seed, Club Olimpia – Estadio Manuel Ferreira, in barrio Mariscal López in Asunción, Paraguay.
Image credit above – unattributed at

Thanks to all at the links below…
-Globe-map of South America by Luan at File:South America (orthographic projection).svg ([South America]).
-Blank map of South America by Anbans 585 at File:CONMEBOL laea location map without rivers.svg ([2018 Copa Libertadores]).
-2020 Copa Libertadores (
-Copa Libertadores 1960-2019 Club Histories (
-Libertadores titles list {}.

WordPress database error: [Table 'bil072291136157.wp_comments' doesn't exist]
SELECT * FROM wp_comments WHERE comment_approved = '1' AND comment_post_ID = 50976 ORDER BY comment_date_gmt ASC

No Comments »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URL

Leave a comment

Powered by WordPress