December 14, 2011

Argentina: Primera División, 2011-12 Stadia map, featuring 2011 Apertura champions Boca Juniors.

Filed under: Argentina,Football Stadia — admin @ 6:49 pm

Primera División de Argentina, 2011-12 Stadia map

The map page features a stadium photo of each club in the 2011-12 season of Primera División de Argenina. Alongside each club’s stadium photo is club information, including…the full name of the club; the year of the club’s formation; their location; their stadium’s name and capacity; the club’s professional Argentine titles (and year of last title); the club’s Copa Libertadores titles (and year of last title); the club’s total Copa Libertadores appearances; the length, in seasons, of the club’s current spell in the Argentine top flight (and the year they (re)entered the first division); and how the club finished in the first half of the 2011-12 season [which was the 2011 Apertura].

At the top, right of the map page, next to the AFA crest, is a season-and-a-half synopsis, listing the last 3 title winners and the clubs that went down to, and came up from, Primera Nacional B…
2010-11 champions –
Apertura: Estudiantes (5th title).
Clausura: Vélez Sarsfield (8th title).

Relegated to Primera Nacional B (in June, 2011):
Gimnasia (La Plata)
River Plate

Promoted to Primera División (in June, 2011):
Atlético de Rafaela
Unión [de Santa Fe]
San Martin (San Juan)
Belgrano [Córdoba].

2011-12 champions -
2011 Apertura: Boca Juniors (24th title).
2012 Clausura: TBD [the 2012 Clausura will begin in the first week of February, 2012].

The 2011 Apertura was won by one of the two most popular Argentine football clubs, Boca Juniors [the other one of the two biggest clubs in the country is River Plate, who are currently in their first-ever professional-era season in the second division, but will almost certainly be back in the top flight for the 2012-13 season]. This is Boca Junior’s 24th professional Argentine title, second only to the 32 pro titles won by River Plate. Boca ended as undefeated champions, as well as being the champions with the most points difference ahead of second place.

From the essential Hasta El Gol Siempre site, ‘Apertura 2011: ¡Boca campeón! (video)‘.

From, from 22 November, 2011, by Jonazthan Wilson, ‘Boca Juniors’ binary finery a tribute to manager Julio César Falcioni
Boca Juniors are a team cast in Julio César Falcioni’s gnarled image, and the Apertura champions-elect are all the better for it

From, from 6 December, by Rory McClenaghan, ‘Football Season review: The Return Of Boca Juniors‘.

Photo credits above – Ortigoza and Cvintanich acion photo by Enrique Marcarian/Reuters via Cvintanich photo from AFA via Schiavi photo and Bombonera title celebration photo from Juniors. Falcioni photo from

From, from Dec.13, 2011, ‘In Argentina, Violence Is Part of the Soccer Culture‘.

The Argentine clubs that have qualified for the 2012 Copa Libertadores…
The 5 Argentine clubs which have qualified for the 2012 Copa Libertadores are…
ARG-1, Vélez Sarsfield (2011 Clausura champion).
ARG-2, Boca Juniors (2011 Apertura champion).
ARG-3, Lanús (best 2011 aggregate among non-champions).
ARG-4, Godoy Cruz (2nd best 2011 aggregate among non-champions).
ARG-5/First Stage [aka preliminary round], Arsenal (qualified as best performance by a club in the 2011 Copa Sudamericana not already qualified).

In terms of all-time Copa libertadores appearances, the 2012 Copa Liberadores will mark the 2nd appearance by Godoy Cruz, the 2nd appearance by Arsenal de Sarandi, the 4th appearance by Lanús, the 13th appearance by Vélez Sarsfield (who have won 1 Copa Libertadores title, in 1994), and the 23rd appearance by Boca Juniors (who have won 6 Copa Libertadores titles, their last in 2007).
2011-12 Copa Libertadores‘ (

From, posted by giovar94, a 13-minute video compilation of the best goals in Argentina in 2011 – this video is incedible – ‘Especial Tyc sports 2011 parte 8 [Mejores goles Argentina]‘.
[Thanks to the Guardian Sport Blog for the above link {see this}.]

Photo credits (stadium photos on map page) –
All Boys/Estadio Islas Malvinas,
Argentinos Juniors/Estadio Diego Armando Maradona,
Arsenal [de Sarandi]/Estadio Julio Humberto Grondona, Hopp Hard Ingo at
Atlético Rafaela/Estadio Nuevo Monumental, atleticoesrafael at
Banfield/Estadio Florencio Sola,
Belgrano/Estadio El Gigante de Alberdi, fercabc at
Boca Juniors/ Estadio Alberto J. Armando (aka ‘La Bombonera [the Chocolate Box]),
Colón/ Estadio Brigadier General Estanislao López,
Godoy Cruz/Estadio Malvinas Argentinas,
independiente/Estadio Libertadores de América, via
Lanús/Estadio Ciudad de Lanús, Hopp Hard Ingo at
Newell’s Old Boys/ Estadio Marcelo Bielsa,
Olimpo/Estadio Roberto Natalio Carminatti, via
Racing/Estadio Presidente Perón (aka ‘El Cilandro’), via
San Lorenzo/Estadio Pedro Bidegain (aka ‘el Nuevo Gasómetro’ (the New Gasometer),
San Martin (SJ)/Estadio del Bicentenario,
Unión [Santa Fe]/Estadio 15 de Abril, eltope at
Tigre/Estadio José Dellagiovanna, Gabriel Sabugo at
Vélez Sarsfield/Esadio José Amalfitani,

Thanks to the contributors to the pages at en. and es. and de., ‘2011–12 Argentine Primera División season‘.
Thanks to NordNordWest for the blank map of Argentina.
Thanks to Sam Kelly at Hasta El Gol Siempre and at the Hand of Pod podcast (link to it here at SoundCloud).

WordPress database error: [Table 'bil072291136157.wp_comments' doesn't exist]
SELECT * FROM wp_comments WHERE comment_approved = '1' AND comment_post_ID = 15033 ORDER BY comment_date_gmt ASC


No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URL

Leave a comment

Powered by WordPress